The Office of Administrative Services (OAS) has been realigned and renamed to the Office of Facilities and Environmental Quality (OFEQ). You will be momentarily redirected to the new OFEQ website. Please update your bookmarks. If you are not redirected within 5 seconds, please copy and paste the following url into your browser:

Department of Commerce Energy
and Environmental Stewardship Awards

The Department's Energy and Environmental Stewardship Awards recognize individual employees and teams that exemplify exceptional energy and/or environmental performance within their program, career field, or organization.


All Department of Commerce employees are eligible.  Nominations may be submitted as an individual or a group; however, the nomination must be submitted by a federal employee. Consistent with Department policy, contractors that directly support the Department are not eligible for individual awards; however, they may be included as part of a team award nomination.  The award is given annually.


Nominees can compete for any of the 13 award categories. All nominations are automatically entered to additionally compete for the Closing the Circle award, GreenGov awards, and the Department of Energy/Federal Energy Management Program awards. Award winners are selected by an award selection committee appointed by the Associate Director of OSEEP, and then forwarded to Commerce's Senior Sustainability Officer for approval. The committee uses the following criteria to evaluate all nominations: degree of difficulty, cost-effectiveness, innovation, and results.


The awards ceremony and reception is typically scheduled concurrent with HCHB's Earth Day event in Washington DC. Recognition includes an award presented by a high-level Departmental official. All nominees, nominators, superviors, senior leadership, and supporters are invited to attend.


Offices outside the DC area are responsible for travel costs for their award recipients to attend the ceremony.

Nominations for FY 14 awards will be accepted until February 15, 2014.

Quick Links:

Office of Administrative Services
Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration
U.S. Department of Commerce

Send questions and comments about this page to

Page last updated:January 31, 2012